Search

Influential frontwoman LEATHER LEONE featured this week on THE TRAFFIC JAM


Most metalheads are familiar with LEATHER LEONE from the 80's, because she fronts the classic metal band CHASTAIN with shredder David T Chastain. The band was signed to Shrapnel Records and originally formed to showcase David's guitar work, but with the addition of Leather Leone who was recruited from her original band RUDE GIRL, the project became more than just a solo project and a true metal band!

Leather Leone was with CHASTAIN for the first 5 albums. From 1985's 'Mystery of Illusion' to 1990's 'For Those Who Dare'. She rejoined the band for the 2010 album 'The Reign of Leather' and released two other albums with the band since, including 2015's breakthrough album 'We Bleed Metal' (Leviathan Records). CHASTAIN is planning to release a new album called 'Chastainium' in 2017.

This week our own DjNitewind has decided to spotlight LEATHER LEONE, with an album spotlight on Wednesday - June 28th, 2017 from 1-4pm MDT (3-6pm EDT) of her solo album from 1989 called LEATHER - 'Shockwaves'. He will be playing the entire album throughout the show!

In 2012 Leather reunited with fellow RUDE GIRL bandmate Sandy Sledge, to form THE SLEDGE/LEATHER PROJECT. They released one album called 'Imagine Me Alive'. The project also featured Scott Warren and Jimmy Bain (DIO).

These days, Leather is doing double duty with CHASTAIN and her own band THE LEATHER LEONE BAND.

DjNitewind will explore more on Leather, her music, history, and what we can look forward to from her and her bands, this Friday - June 30th, 2017 at 3:00pm MDT/Saskatchewan (5pm EDT/9pm GMT) on THE TRAFFIC JAM right here on the mighty Pure Rock Radio!

DjNitewind Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/www.NitewindHome/

Leather Leone Links:

https://www.facebook.com/pg/LeatherLeone

https://twitter.com/LeatherLeone

http://www.leviathanrecords.com/webleedmetal.htm

#TheTrafficJam #PureRockRadio #Interviews #LeatherLeone #Chastain #DjNitewind #RudeGirl #DavidTChastain #ShrapnelRecords #LeviathanRecords

Pure Rock Newswire

SOCAN Licensed To Play 2020
banner.png
Radiowave Monitor
Canadian Online Radio Charts

© Copyright 1997 - 2020 Pure Rock Radio (Worldwide)

Pure Rock Radio is Licensed under SOCAN Tariff 22F